Article Display

20th MDG Airmen named 2018's “best in the Air Force”

  • Published
  • By Senior Airman Ashley Maldonado
  • 20th Fighter Wing Public Affairs
Lt. Gen. Dorothy Hogg, Air Force surgeon general, announced two 20th Medical Group Airmen as the “best in the Air Force” for the 2018 Air Force Medical Service awards, Feb. 20.

The AFMS awards program recognizes the top Air Force medics out of more than 24,000 Airmen across 76 military treatment facilities worldwide.

Lt. Col. Cheryl Lockhart, 20th MDG chief nurse, was named the recipient of the Air Force Excellence in Nursing Leadership Award, and Master Sgt. Katie Buus, 20th Dental Squadron dental logistics non-commissioned officer in charge, was named the Air Force Dental NCO of the Year.

“It was not possible to win this award without outstanding individuals supporting me and doing the mission,” Lockhart said. “This may be my award, but it’s really theirs because I would not be recognized for leadership if I did not have outstanding followers.”
According to the AFMS website, the accomplishments of those recognized demonstrate expertise, leadership and commitment across the full breadth of the support we provide to the Air Force mission.

“This is a very special honor,” said Buus. “The award itself provides external recognition that I am on the correct path. I am very blessed and thankful for the mentors, leaders and family who have pushed me to achieve and succeed. Individuals do not achieve accolades such as these on their own, and I am truly thankful for each and every individual who had a part in this achievement.”