Shaw Air Force Base   Right Corner Banner
Join the Air Force

News > Annual Awards Banquet
Previous ImageNext Image
Awards banquet
SHAW AIR FORCE BASE, S.C. -- Nominees for the 20th Fighter Wing annual awards pose for a group photo during their base tour Jan. 25. The winners were announced the following evening at the 20th FW Annual Awards Banquet. (U.S. Air Force photo/Senior Airman William Coleman)
Download HiRes
Annual Awards Banquet

Posted 2/1/2008   Updated 2/1/2008 Email story   Print story


by Tech. Sgt. Kevin Williams
20th Fighter Wing Public Affairs

2/1/2008 - SHAW AIR FORCE BASE, S.C. -- The spotlight shined bright on the top 20th Fighter Wing Airmen and civilians of 2007 during the Annual Awards Banquet held at the Carolina Skies Club Jan. 26.

A packed house cheered for the nominees as they entered the banquet hall to kick off the event.

After special guests were introduced and the dinner was served, the crowd was entertained by the U.S. Air Force Heritage Band of America: Blue Aces, who performed a specialized fast-paced performance.

After the band's performance, it was time to announce the best of the best for 2007. However, before the official announcement, Col. James Post, 20th FW commander, started a new wing tradition when he announced a special first-time award.

To his surprise, Chaplain (Col.) Gary Perry, 20th FW wing chaplain, was presented with the first-ever 20th FW Lifetime Achievement Award.

After a long standing ovation for the chaplain, it was time to name the 20th FW annual award winners for 2007:

Airman category; Airman 1st Class Latoya Dawson, 20th Mission Support Group
Noncommissioned Officer category; Tech. Sgt. Antwan Newsom, 20th Operations 
Group Senior NCO category; Master Sgt. Franklin Wilson, 20th Maintenance Group
First Sergeant Category; Master Sgt. Tanya Carbone, 20th MSG
Company Grade Officer category; Capt. Ronald Hurt, 20th MSG
Field Grade Officer category; Maj. Lynn Savage, 20th OG
Civilian category (GS-6/WG-7 & below); David Watson, 20th OG
Civilian category (GS-7/WG-8 & above); Bruce Hildreth, 20th MXG
Wingman Pilot Award; Capt. Brad Balazs, 20th OG
Flight Lead Pilot Award; Capt. Lee Bryant, 20th OG
Instructor Pilot Award; Capt. Scott Fann, 20th OG
Honor Guard Team Leader; Staff Sgt. Telissa Diggs
Honor Guard Ceremonial Leader; Senior Airman Alan Howard.

The winners will now move on to compete at the Numbered Air Force level
where they will face competition from around the Air Force.

No comments yet.  
Add a comment

 Inside Shaw AFB

ima cornerSearch

tabBase Services
Airmen and Family Readiness Center 20th Force Support Squadron services
Housing Office 20th Fighter Wing Legal office
20th Medical Group Health Care Services Newcomers Information
Public Affairs Retiree Activities Office
Religious Services 20th Fighter Wing Safety
Sexual Assault Prevention and Response Base Directory
tabConnect with Team Shaw

Social Media and Digital Security

Shaw AFB FacebookShaw AFB TwitterShaw AFB YoutubeShaw AFB Flickr

Site Map      Contact Us     Questions     Security and Privacy notice     E-publishing  
Suicide Prevention    SAPR   IG   EEO   Accessibility/Section 508   No FEAR Act